NSCDA-TX Awards

(September 2022)

Awards:

1. Abner Cook Award:

The Neill-Cochran House Museum Committee presents the Abner Cook Award to a member of the Texas community who has had an impact on historic preservation either through his or her career or through independent advocacy or action. The award is given in years where an appropriate recipient is identified. Awardees may be nominated by any member or Town Committee of the NSCDA-Texas and vetted by the NCHM Committee. This award should be given no more than once annually.

Abner Cook Award Recipients:

2006: Peter Maxson

2007: Kirk Hubbell

2008: Sue Moss

2009: John & Candace Volz

2010: Wayne Bell

2011: Sally Hunter

2012: Marvin Bradshaw

2013: Betsy Christian

2014: Jane Karotkin

2017: Joe Pinnelli

2. The NSCDA-TX Award for Distinction in Patriotic Service

The NSCDA-TX Award for Distinction in Patriotic Service is presented to a member of the Texas community who has, through his or her career or through personal avocation, made an impact on the growth of American patriotic spirit. This award may be presented whenever an appropriate recipient is identified, but not more than once annually.

Patriotic Service Award Recipients:

2018: Tom Hatfield

3. The NCHM Volunteer Service Award

This award is presented to a community supporter of the Neill-Cochran House Museum who has contributed time and service to the Museum generously over a substantial period. This award may be presented whenever an appropriate recipient is identified, but not more than once annually.

NCHM Volunteer Service Award Recipients:

2019: Ms. Karen Bluethman

4. The NSCDA-TX Award for Distinction is Historic Preservation

The NSCDA-TX Award for Distinction in Historic Preservation is presented to a member of the Texas community who has, through his or her career or through personal avocation, made an impact in the area of historic preservation in Texas. This award may be presented whenever an appropriate recipient is identified, but not more than once annually.

Historic Preservation Award Recipients:

2021: J.P. Bryan